FAQ (for Primary Schools)

Frequently Asked Questions (for Primary Schools)

General

A1: The Government implements the Know-IT Programme in the 2021/22 school year. It aims to stimulate primary school students’ interest in IT, strengthen their basic IT knowledge through extra-curricular activities (ECAs), thereby enhancing their interest to pursue the study of STEM subjects and preparing them for integration into the digital society in the future.

A2: Schools should organise IT-related ECAs and procure the IT equipment and professional services required for organising such activities, such as robotics and artificial intelligence workshops, participation in IT-related competitions and visits to IT companies, etc. Solely purchasing hardware and software does not meet the programme objective. The hardware and software to be purchased must be IT equipment that are necessary for organising related activities.

Eligibility of Applicants

A3: The applicant must be a publicly-funded primary school, including government, aided (including special schools), and Direct Subsidy Scheme (DSS) primary schools.

Funding Scope

A4: The funding scope of the Know-IT Programme comprises the following two parts-

  1. one-off grant (max $200,000): for meeting upfront expenditure on hardware, software, equipment (such as cloud servers and storage services) which is required for organising IT-related ECAs; and

  2. operating grant: for meeting expenditure on professional services, operating services and technical support services, etc. for IT-related ECAs. It is used mainly for organising school-based ECAs, such as robotics and artificial intelligence workshops, participation in IT-related competitions and visits to IT companies, etc.
The following are not covered by the programme:
  • non-local study tours;
  • teachers' training; and
  • use of IT in supporting general teaching and learning.
For details, please refer to Annex 3 - Examples of Out-of-Scope Items of the Application Guidelines.

A5: The funding under this programme can only be used to organise IT-related ECAs and procure IT equipment and related services which are necessary and directly related to the proposed IT-related activities. Please note that the funding for the procurement of IT equipment and related services should not be more than $200,000 during the entire programme period. Schools should provide clear and concrete justifications on any expenditure in procuring IT equipment and related services, and explain why such expenditure is required for the proposed IT-related activities. Schools should also provide specific plans on how to fully utilise the IT equipment and related services (such as organising more IT-related activities) within the scope of the Know-IT Programme.

A6: For procurement of goods and services, participating schools are required to follow proper procurement, accounting and financial control procedures as set out in the EDB Circular No. 4/2013, the School Administration Guide, the Stores and Procurement Regulations and other relevant guidelines, as revised from time to time. Participating schools should also make reference to the “Best Practice Checklist on Procurement” issued by the Independent Commission Against Corruption (ICAC).

Activity Time

A7: In general, ECAs should take place outside regular lesson time. Nevertheless, schools may flexibly conduct ECAs at the most suitable time according to their current practice to suit their teaching needs and students’ learning needs.

Application Procedures

A8: The Know-IT Programme is a 3-year programme, and participating primary schools can apply for a maximum funding of $400,000. Every participating school can submit one or more applications during a single school year, and host as many activities as they can. They are required to submit the Annual Report and Financial Report for the previous school year (by August the latest) before they can submit a new proposal in the subsequent school year.

A9: The programme will be open for application from 1 September 2021.

A10: Schools are welcome to submit joint applications. They can submit application forms signed by individual principals and indicate the activities to be organised jointly at the columns of activity titles / descriptions on the application form. OGCIO will vet the related applications together but the approval is based on individual schools with a maximum funding of $400,000.

A11: Participating schools are advised to organise the ECAs concerned or procure equipment or services only after the funding has been approved. This is to avoid causing any extra financial burden to schools in case the funding cannot be approved as originally planned. Besides, since the actual approval period will be subject to factors such as the completeness of information provided in the application by schools, the number of applications received and the number of meetings held by the Vetting Committee, schools should allow sufficient buffer time between application submission and the organisation date of the ECAs concerned.

A12: It is advisable for participating schools to plan in advance for opening a bank account in order to allow sufficient time for completing the required procedures. The account opening arrangements and documentation requirements for opening a bank account (such as the school registration documents, the relevant minutes of meetings and the identification documents of the authorised persons of the bank account) may vary from bank to bank. Participating schools may refer to the list of retail banks and virtual banks in Hong Kong and their documentation requirements for opening accounts provided by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority. Please refer to the web page below for details:
https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/smart-consumers/account-opening/contact-details-of-banks/

A13: According to the guidelines issued by ICAC, participating schools should open a dedicated bank account to handle the funding under the programme. If a school encounters difficulties in opening a bank account, it may propose an alternative in lieu of this arrangement to OGCIO with reasons and justifications, which should cover how it will strengthen its internal financial management, for instance, by using an existing dormant bank account which bears the school name and has been inactive for 6 months or more, stepping up its financial management of the separate ledger account through a computerised accounting system, and providing half-yearly financial reports, etc. OGCIO will take the school’s proposal into consideration based on the information the school submitted and reserve the right to conduct school visits for ensuring that the funding is properly used in compliance with the objectives and requirements of the programme.

Others

A14: For the guidelines on operating a drone or unmanned aircraft, please visit the Civil Aviation Department (CAD) website at (https://www.cad.gov.hk/english/UAS_safetyguidelines.html).

Besides, CAD is introducing a new legislation for regulating unmanned aircraft in the longer term. The new Small Unmanned Aircraft Order (SUA Order), a piece of subsidiary legislation made under the Civil Aviation Ordinance (Cap. 448), fosters the innovative development and application of small unmanned aircraft or drones in Hong Kong in tandem with evolving technology, while safeguarding aviation and public safety. The SUA Order will commence on June 1, 2022. For details of the new regulatory regime, please refer to the Legislative Council Brief dated 14 July 2021 (https://www.legco.gov.hk/yr20-21/english/brief/thbtcr5995108_20210714-e.pdf).

Before the commencement of the SUA Order, the flight safety of unmanned aircraft is regulated by the civil aviation legislation. Please visit CAD website (https://www.cad.gov.hk/english/index.html) regularly to get new updates about the new SUA regulatory regime.

常见问题(供小学参阅)

一般问题

答1: 政府在2021/22学年推行「奇趣IT识多啲」计划,旨在通过课外活动启发小学生对信息科技的兴趣,并加强他们在信息科技方面的基本知识,从而提高他们将来修读STEM科目的兴趣,为将来融入数码社会作好准备。

答2: 学校应举办与信息科技相关的课外活动,并采购有关活动所需的信息科技设备和专业服务,例如机械人和人工智能工作坊、参加信息科技相关比赛,以及参观信息科技公司等。单单购置硬件和软件并不符合计划的目的,拟采购的硬件和软件必须为举办有关活动所需的信息科技设备。

申请资格

答3: 申请学校必须为公帑资助的小学,包括官立、资助(包括特殊学校)和直接资助计划小学。

资助范围

答4: 「奇趣IT识多啲」计划的资助范围包括以下两部分-

  1. 非经常补助金(上限为20万元):用以支付举办信息科技相关课外活动所需的硬件、软件和设备(如云端服务器和储存服务)的前期开支;以及

  2. 营运补助金:用以支付信息科技相关课外活动所需的专业服务、营运服务和技术支持服务等开支,主要用作学校举办的课外活动,包括机械人和人工智能工作坊、参加信息科技相关比赛,以及参观信息科技公司等。
计划并不涵盖以下项目:
  • 非本地考察团;
  • 教师培训;以及
  • 利用信息科技支持一般教与学。
详情请参阅申请指引附件三 – 非资助范围项目的例子。

答5: 本计划的资助只可用于举办与信息科技相关的课外活动,以及购置拟举办的信息科技相关活动所需并直接相关的信息科技设备和相关服务。请注意,在整段计划期内,用于购置信息科技设备和相关服务的资助款项不应超过20万元。学校应就购置信息科技设备和相关服务的任何开支提供清晰的实质理据,并解释为何拟举办的信息科技相关活动需要该等开支。学校亦应就如何在「奇趣IT识多啲」计划资助范围内充分利用该等信息科技设备和相关服务(例如举办更多信息科技相关活动)提供具体计划。

答6: 在采购货品和服务方面,参与计划的学校必须遵守教育局通告第4/2013号、《学校行政手册》、《物料供应及采购规例》和其他相关指引中不时修订的适当采购、会计和财务管理程序。参与计划的学校亦应参考廉政公署发出的《防贪锦囊 - 采购》。

活动举办时段

答7: 一般而言,课外活动应在常规课堂时间以外进行。然而,学校可按照其现行做法灵活地在最合适的时间进行课外活动,以配合其教学需要和学生的学习需要。

申请程序

答8: 「奇趣IT识多啲」计划为期3年,参与计划的小学最高可申请40万元的资助。每间参与计划的学校在每一个学年可提交一次或以上的申请,并可举办多项活动。学校必须(在8月前)提交前一学年的年度报告和财务报告,才可以在下一学年提交新建议。

答9: 计划于2021年9月1日起接受申请。

答10: 我们欢迎学校提交联校申请。学校可以提交由个别校长签署的申请表,并在申请表上的活动名称/说明等栏中注明联合举办的活动。资科办将一并审查相关的申请,但审批申请以个别学校为单位,资助上限为40万元。

答11: 我们建议参与计划的学校应在资助获得审批后才举办相关课外活动或采购设备╱服务,以免在资助未能按原本计划获审批时对学校造成额外财政负担。此外,由于实际审批时间需视乎申请学校所提供的数据是否完整、所收到的申请数量,以及评审委员会举行会议的次数等因素而定,学校应在提交申请与举办相关课外活动的日期之间预留足够缓冲时间。

答12: 我们建议参与计划的学校尽早作出开设银行账户的安排,以预留足够时间办理所需手续。不同银行对开户安排和开户所需文件(如学校注册文件、相关会议记录和银行账户授权人的身分证明文件等)或有不同要求。参与计划的学校可参考香港金融管理局所提供有关本港零售银行和虚拟银行的名单和其开户所需文件。详情请参阅以下网页:
https://www.hkma.gov.hk/gb_chi/smart-consumers/account-opening/contact-details-of-banks/

答13: 按照廉政公署的指引,参与计划的学校应该开设专属的银行账户处理计划下的资助款项。学校如在开设银行账户时遇到困难,可向资科办提出以其他方案替代并提供原因和理据,包括如何加强内部财务管理,例如使用持有学校名称而已没有经常使用6 个月或以上的现有不活跃银行帐户、使用计算机化会计系统进行有关独立分类账的财务管理、每半年一次提交财务报告等。资科办会根据学校提交的资料考虑学校的建议和保留探访学校的权利,确保资助款项用得其所并符合计划的目的和条件。

其他

答14: 有关无人机指引的详情可浏览民航处网站:(https://www.cad.gov.hk/sc/UAS_safetyguidelines.html)。

此外,民航处正引入一项新法例以长远规管无人机。《小型无人机令》是在《民航条例》(第448章)下新订立的附属法例,在保障航空和公众安全之余,让小型无人机随科技演变和创新,有更大的发展和应用空间。《小型无人机令》将于2022年6月1日起生效。有关新规管制度的详情,请参阅2021年7月14日的立法会参考数据摘要:(https://www.legco.gov.hk/yr20-21/chinese/brief/thbtcr5995108_20210714-c.pdf)。

在《小型无人机令》生效之前,无人机飞行安全仍受民航条例规管,请定期浏览民航处网站(https://www.cad.gov.hk/sc/index.html)以得知新规管制度的最新情况。