FAQ (for Secondary Schools)

Frequently Asked Questions (for Secondary Schools)

General

A1: IT Innovation Lab is an enhancement initiative launched under the existing “Enriched IT Programme in Secondary Schools” (EITP), and the scope of funding is extended to all publicly-funded secondary schools. It aims to cultivate the interest of secondary school students in IT, enhance their innovative thinking and foster an IT learning atmosphere to encourage them to choose technology-related tertiary education programmes and pursue an I&T career in the future.

A2: The IT Innovation Lab initiative is not restricted to setting up a physical lab. The funding should be used on students for learning IT, and the facilities and equipment acquired through the funding should be directly related to the proposed IT-related activities.

A3: Solely purchasing hardware and software does not meet the initiative objective. The hardware and software to be purchased must be the IT equipment that are necessary for organising the related activities. The school is required to use the procured equipment in organising activities for students to learn IT. In designing the activities, please make sure the learning objectives attribute to the learning of IT knowledge, theory and/or practical skills involving exercising knowledge and practice of the IT discipline, such as artificial intelligence, blockchain, cloud computing and big data, instead of the perspective of merely an IT user.

Eligibility of Applicants

A4: The applicant must be a publicly-funded secondary school, including government, aided, caput secondary schools and secondary schools under the Direct Subsidy Scheme (DSS).

Funding Scope

A5: The funding scope of the IT Innovation Lab initiative includes the following two aspects-

  1. procuring and maintaining IT equipment and infrastructure (such as server-side and client-side hardware and software, optical fibre and broadband network, cloud servers and storage services) and acquiring relevant professional services (such as cloud services) that meet the needs of the school and its students; and

  2. organising IT-related activities. These activities can take different forms, including workshops, seminars, short courses, local visits, experience activities, as well as participation in local and non-local competitions and organising exhibitions to showcase students’ innovation and achievements. The scope of such activities can also be wide-ranging, including for example learning to code, learning about new technologies such as virtual reality (VR) / augmented reality (AR), artificial intelligence (AI), drones, robotics, etc., the application of IT, digital transformation, visits to multi-national companies in Hong Kong and local start-ups as well as preparing for IT competitions, such as datathons, etc. The funding could also cover operational expenses of these activities (such as maintenance and professional services for learning support) and administrative cost.
The following are not covered by the initiative:
  • non-local study tours;
  • teachers' training; and
  • use of IT in supporting general teaching and learning.
For details, please refer to Annex 3 - Examples of Out-of-Scope Items of the Application Guidelines.

A6: The funding under this programme can only be used to organise IT-related extra-curricular activities and procure IT equipment, infrastructure and related services which are necessary and directly related to the proposed IT-related activities. Generally speaking, the funding for the procurement of IT equipment, infrastructure and related services should not be more than $500,000 during the entire programme period. Schools should provide clear and concrete justifications on any expenditure in procuring IT equipment, infrastructure and related services, and explain why such expenditure is required for the proposed IT-related activities. Schools should also provide specific plans on how to fully utilise the IT equipment, infrastructure and related services (such as organising more IT-related activities) within the scope of the IT Innovation Lab programme.

A7: Renovation works and furniture unrelated to the proposed IT activities are out of scope of the programme. Please refer to Annex 3 - Examples of Out-of-Scope Items of the Application Guidelines.

A8: Whole-school network upgrade for e-learning is out of scope of the programme. Please refer to Annex 3 - Examples of Out-of-Scope Items of the Application Guidelines: e-learning equipment for assisting general teaching and learning purposes.

Application Procedures

A9: No, one single application can contain multiple planned activities or equipment to be acquired in the school year.

A10: The programme is open for application from 1 December 2020.

A11: According to the guidelines issued by ICAC, participating schools should open a dedicated bank account to handle the funding under the programme. If a school encounters difficulties in opening a bank account, it may propose an alternative in lieu of this arrangement to OGCIO with reasons and justifications, which should cover how it will strengthen its internal financial management, for instance, by using an existing dormant bank account which bears the school name and has been inactive generally for 6 months or more, stepping up its financial management of the separate ledger account through a computerised accounting system, and providing half-yearly financial reports, etc. OGCIO will take the school’s proposal into consideration based on the information the school submitted and reserve the right to conduct school visits for ensuring that the funding is properly used in compliance with the objectives and requirements of the programme.

A12: It is advisable for the participating schools to plan in advance for opening a bank account in order to allow sufficient time for completing the required procedures. The account opening arrangements and documentation requirements for opening a bank account (such as the school registration documents, the relevant minutes of meetings and the identification documents of the authorised persons of the bank account etc.) may vary from bank to bank. Participating schools may refer to the list of retail banks and virtual banks in Hong Kong and their documentation requirements for opening accounts provided by the Hong Kong Monetary Authority. Please refer to the webpage below for details: https://www.hkma.gov.hk/eng/smart-consumers/account-opening/contact-details-of-banks/

Others

A13: For the guidelines on operating a drone or unmanned aircraft, please visit the Civil Aviation Department (CAD) website at (https://www.cad.gov.hk/english/UAS_safetyguidelines.html).

Besides, CAD is introducing a new legislation for regulating unmanned aircraft in the longer term. The new Small Unmanned Aircraft Order (SUA Order), a piece of subsidiary legislation made under the Civil Aviation Ordinance (Cap. 448), fosters the innovative development and application of small unmanned aircraft or drones in Hong Kong in tandem with evolving technology, while safeguarding aviation and public safety. The SUA Order will commence on June 1, 2022. For details of the new regulatory regime, please refer to the Legislative Council Brief dated 14 July 2021 (https://www.legco.gov.hk/yr20-21/english/brief/thbtcr5995108_20210714-e.pdf).

Before the commencement of the SUA Order, the flight safety of unmanned aircraft is regulated by the civil aviation legislation. Please visit CAD website (https://www.cad.gov.hk/english/index.html) regularly to get new updates about the new SUA regulatory regime.

常見問題(供中學參閱)

常見問題(供中學參閱)

一般問題

答1: 「中學IT創新實驗室」是在現行「中學資訊科技增潤計劃」下推出的一項優化計劃,資助範圍擴展至所有公帑資助的中學。這項計劃旨在及早培養中學生對資訊科技的興趣,加強他們的創新思維,以及推動資訊科技的學習氛圍,鼓勵他們日後選擇相關科技範疇的大專課程甚或在未來投身創科行業。

答2: 「中學IT創新實驗室」計劃不限於設立實體實驗室。有關資助應用於學生學習資訊科技,而使用這筆資助購置的設施及設備應與建議舉辦的資訊科技相關活動直接有關。

答3: 單單購置硬件及軟件並不符合計劃的目標,擬採購之硬件及軟件須為舉辦有關活動必須配備的資訊科技設備,學校必須使用購置的設備舉辦活動,以供學生學習資訊科技。在設計活動時,請確保學習目標應以學習資訊科技知識、理論及/或實用技能為主,包括運用和實踐資訊科技學科的知識,例如人工智能、區塊鏈、雲端運算、大數據等,而非單從資訊科技用戶的角度設計活動。

申請資格

答4: 申請學校必須為公帑資助的中學,包括官立、資助、按位津貼中學及直接資助計劃中學。

資助範圍

答5: 「中學IT創新實驗室」計劃的資助範圍包括以下兩方面-

  1. 購置和維修保養切合學校及學生需要的資訊科技設備及基礎設施(如伺服器端及客戶端的硬件和軟件、光纖及寬頻網絡、雲端伺服器及儲存服務),以及採購相關專業服務(如雲端服務);以及

  2. 舉辦與資訊科技相關的活動。這些活動可採取不同的形式,包括工作坊、研討會、短期課程、本地參觀和體驗活動,以及參與本地及非本地比賽和舉辦展覽展示學生的創意和成果。活動的範圍可以十分廣泛,例子包括學習編程、認識虛擬實境/擴增實境、人工智能、無人機、機械人技術等新科技、應用資訊科技、數碼轉型、參觀香港的跨國公司和本地初創企業,以及備戰資訊科技比賽,例如數據馬拉松等。資助金額亦可用作支付活動的運作開支(例如為支援學習而設的維修保養和專業服務)及行政費用。
計劃並不涵蓋以下數項:
  • 非本地考察團;
  • 教師培訓;以及
  • 利用資訊科技支援一般教與學。
詳情請參閲申請指引附件三 – 非資助範圍項目的例子。

答6: 本計劃的資助只可用於舉辦與資訊科技相關的課外活動,及購置擬舉辦的資訊科技相關活動需要及直接相關的資訊科技設備、基礎設施及相關服務。一般而言,在整段計劃期內,購置資訊科技設備、基礎設施及相關服務的資助不能多於50萬元。學校應就購置任何關乎資訊科技設備、基礎設施及相關服務等的費用提供清晰的實質理據,解釋何以擬舉辦與資訊科技相關的活動需要該等支出,並就如何在「中學IT創新實驗室」計劃資助範圍內充分利用該等設備、基礎設施及相關服務(例如進行更多與資訊科技相關的活動),提供具體方案。

答7: 與資訊科技活動無關的裝修工程及家具不在本計劃資助範圍內。請參閱申請指引附件三 – 非資助範圍項目的例子。

答8: 提升全校網絡作電子學習之用不在本計劃資助範圍內。請參閱申請指引附件三 – 非資助範圍項目的例子:用於輔助一般教學用途的電子學習設備。

申請程序

答9: 不需要,一份申請書可以包含該學年多個擬舉辦的活動或擬購買的設備。

答10: 計劃於2020年12月1日起接受申請。

答11: 按照廉政公署的指引,參與計劃的學校應該開設專屬的銀行帳戶處理計劃下的資助款項。學校如在開設銀行帳戶時遇到困難,可向資科辦提出以其他方案替代並提供原因和理據,包括如何加強內部財務管理,例如使用帶有學校名稱且已有6 個月或以上沒有活躍使用記錄的現有不動銀行賬戶、使用電腦化會計系統進行有關獨立分類帳的財務管理、每半年一次提交財務報告等。資科辦會根據學校提交的資料作出考慮及保留探訪學校的權利,確保資助款項用得其所並符合計劃的目的和條件。

答12: 我們建議參與計劃的學校盡早作出開設銀行賬戶的安排,以預留足夠時間辦理所需手續。不同銀行對開戶安排及開戶所需文件(如學校註冊文件、相關會議記錄和戶口授權人的身份證明文件等)或有不同要求。參與計劃的學校可參考香港金融管理局所提供有關本港各零售銀行及虛擬銀行的聯絡資訊及開戶所需資料。詳情請參閱以下網頁:https://www.hkma.gov.hk/chi/smart-consumers/account-opening/contact-details-of-banks/

其他

答13: 有關無人機指引的詳情可瀏覽民航處網站:(https://www.cad.gov.hk/chinese/UAS_safetyguidelines.html)。

此外,民航處正引入一項新法例以長遠規管無人機。《小型無人機令》是在《民航條例》(第448章)下新訂立的附屬法例,在保障航空和公眾安全之餘,讓小型無人機隨科技演變和創新,有更大的發展和應用空間。《小型無人機令》將於2022年6月1日起生效。有關新規管制度的詳情,請參閱2021年7月14日的立法會參考資料摘要:(https://www.legco.gov.hk/yr20-21/chinese/brief/thbtcr5995108_20210714-c.pdf)。

在《小型無人機令》生效之前,無人機飛行安全仍受民航條例規管,請定期瀏覽民航處網站(https://www.cad.gov.hk/chinese/index.html)以得知新規管制度的最新情況。